Skip to main content

Posts

Showing posts with the label sick

Fun For Friday - You Know You're REALLY Sick When

What a week ... I'm finally feeling semi-human again after being taken down by some sort of plague funk. I honestly don't think it was the flu as I felt something start to come on slowly mid-week last week. However, I did run a pretty high fever for 2 1/2 days. I became one with the couch and my warmest, fuzziest blanket. I know all my posts this week have been about being sick and not working out when sick . But that's kind of all I've had to roll with this week. I promise this is the last of the sickies posts. It is Fun for Friday so let's do a funny post about being sick shall we? You know you're really sick when ... You quite literally blow through every box of tissues (and several rolls of toilet paper) in the house. You have to resort to Vaseline around your upper lip, nose and cheeks from blowing your nose so much. Your significant other starts drinking Airborne or Emergen-C like it's a life force. You have carefully positioned every ...

Sick? When to Call it Quits

I would love to be sharing my workouts with you. Would love to tell you I was a badass and ran with Amy when it was 10 degrees yesterday, or that I got in a kick butt weight workout on Monday. But, whatever sickness has taken over has totally sidelined me. There are many times when I am feeling less than stellar but am still able to get in a workout. I tend to try to listen to my body and do what I can. As a lifelong asthmatic, I know that if it's in my chest, then working out is a no go plain and simple. But sniffles and sneezing just mean that I need extra tissues. It's been a really long time since I've been too sick to even think about working out. There are times when I feel under the weather and think about it, but then decide on a rest day. This time? Not even an inkling of a thought. I hardly even have the energy to move off the couch to go get water let alone run even half a mile. To add to my list of when not to workout is a fever. The fever knocked m...

I Give Up - I'm Sick

I wish I had a super fun weekend recap post. I guess if you find sitting on the couch and not moving fun, then it was a blast. Unfortunately, my rear end indention on the couch was out of necessity not because I wanted to be parked there. It started slowly on Thursday with a tickle in my chest and a heaviness. If you have asthma or have had frequent bouts of bronchitis, you probably know the feeling. I thought it was from running in the cold weather. Friday morning's run was another freezing (literally) run with strong northerly winds. I wore my new neck warmer that helped save my chin from frostbite. During the run, my lungs hurt, but I wasn't really having a hard time breathing. By midday, all bets were off and I was full on short of breath. I wasn't having any sinus drainage or congestion though. I was starting to freak out about blood clots again. I knew I was being paranoid. But that's where my head was. In reality, I was just flat out getting sick. Saturday ...

Sick not "Sick" Weekend

Well, I must say this weekend was so not as planned. I mentioned last week that I was feeling kind of cruddy. And it never went away. Friday I was off work. My plan was to go ahead and get in my 10-mile run then get my hair cut then spend the rest of the day with my sister. I woke up still really stuffy, sore throat, sinus headache. But I went ahead and headed out for my run. I got in 5.4 miles before stopping by the house to meet up with Jason and to change from short-sleeved shirt to tank. It was already in the mid-60's and humid. The run wasn't easy. It was tough and tougher because I kept going faster than necessary. I don't know if it was just a "let's just get this shit over with" thing or what, but I was going way too fast. I was way too sick. And it was way too warm. Jason did 3.6 miles with me and I called it done with all caps at 9 miles. I rushed to get cleaned up and to my hair appointment, then met my sister at Target. I had regular shopping...